top of page



The Australian and New Zealand Collaborative Perfusion Registry (ANZCPR) aims to empower cardiac surgical team members through the collection and reporting  of data relevant to the practice of cardiopulmonary bypass.  This is achieved through utilisation of the data to understand clinical practice, provide a foundation for research, and to facilitate quality improvement.  Formed in 2007, the registry has collected data in more than 35,000 procedures in 10 hospitals throughout Australia and New Zealand.


In 2007 Prof Rob Baker and Richard Newland established the Perfusion Downunder Collaborative Research Database.  Originally six hospitals in Australia and New Zealand collected data from electronic data management systems on the heart lung machine and exported these to a multi-centre database. This enabled multicentre benchmarking and quality improvement initiatives that have resulted in improved practice.


The PDU database has recently transitioned to the Australia New Zealand Collaborative Perfusion Registry (ANZCPR) - a collaborative database for cardiac surgical procedures performed throughout Australia and New Zealand.  The ANZCPR is now generating manuscripts in the peer reviewed literature.


Participating centres:

  • Alfred Hospital, Melbourne, Victoria

  • Ashford Hospital, Ashford, South Australia

  • Auckland City Hospital, Auckland, New Zealand

  • Cabrini Hospital, Malvern, Victoria

  • Calvary Lenah Valley, Hobart, Tasmania

  • Flinders Medical Centre, Bedford Park, South Australia

  • Flinders Private Hospital, Bedford Park, South Australia

  • John Hunter Hospital, New Lambton Heights, New South Wales

  • Royal Hobart Hospital, Hobart, Tasmania

  • Westmead Hospital, Westmead, New South Wales

bottom of page